About this Program

Digital Teaching and Learning Grant Program

The Digital Teaching and Learning Qualifying Grant Program was created in accordance to Utah Code Section 53F-2-510 and Utah State Board of Education (USBE) Rule R277-922. Districts and charter schools are required to create a 5-year plan for Digital Teaching and Learning to be approved by USBE to qualify for the funds.

This initiative began with stakeholders from across the state including the local school systems, the Utah State Board of Education (USBE), UETN, and the Legislature creating Utah’s Master Plan to best leverage the power of technology for learning. This plan articulates “Utah has a powerful opportunity to act, and to harness technology as an extraordinary tool to our benefit… To move all students to high levels of learning powered by technology, all students will need access to infrastructure, devices, and applications that can be most effectively incorporated into learning… With teachers serving as architects of learning combined with the knowledge to effectively integrate technology, schools can provide students with a pipeline to explore real world concepts, interact with real world experts, and analyze and solve real world problems.” The Legislature created and charged the USBE to combine these efforts to create this program.

The Digital Teaching and Learning Program currently invests $20 million in accelerating and deepening learning through technology in Utah’s K-12 schools. The first cohort under the DTL program was launched in 2016, funding grants in 65 school districts and charter schools across the state. In subsequent years, additional districts and charter schools have joined the program.

This dashboard is meant to be a collaborative tool for educational leaders across the state to identify neighbors pursuing similar goals. It provides background information on each grantee’s targeted outcomes for the program, its progress in reaching those outcomes, and its stage of readiness and implementation of digital learning in participating schools.